Michindoh Council Continues To Grow

by Josh Colletta

In addition to Branch County, the Bryan Times says Fulton and Lenawee Counties also joined the Ohio-Michigan-Indiana Council of Governments at Thursday’s meeting in Bryan.

They join the initial membership of Steuben, Williams, Hillsdale and Defiance Counties.

That makes 7 of 9 counties that officials believe the Michindoh Aquifer serves as a source of drinking water.

The other two — DeKalb and Allen Counties in Indiana — are still considering membership. Brian Davis, a Williams County commissioner and a member of the Michindoh council, says DeKalb County may still join, but he doubts that Allen County ever will.

At the meeting, the council discussed the possibility of initiating talks with the United States Geological Survey to study the aquifer, and to do so with a known price tag so that the council can apply for grants and other sources of funding. They hope to hold a public meeting with USGS representatives on October 25th at 10 AM at the Williams County East Annex Building.

Competitive quotes might also be taken from area universities and private firms.

As for the group’s official structure, the council elected the following officers:

  • President: Brian Davis — Williams County
  • Vice President: Mark Wiley — Hillsdale County
  • Secretary: Ron Smith — Steuben County
  • Treasurer: Ryan Mack — Defiance County

Each of those terms lasts until December of 2020.